If you are like most adults in Indiana, you need the ability to drive to get to and from work as well as to other important places. Your driver’s license is the legal document that permits you to drive.
In several circumstances, though, the state can take away your license and make it illegal for you to operate a motor vehicle.
Possible reasons for a license suspension
According to Drive Safely, a system of rules governs driver license suspensions in Indiana. Depending upon the reasons for the suspension, the period lasts for a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of two years. The suspension period takes effect 18 days after a notice is sent to the offender by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Common reasons for suspensions include the following:
- A DWI charge
- Failure to complete mandated traffic school
- Failure to carry auto insurance
- Inability to pass a vision test
- A habitual offender designation
- Failure to pay fines or appear in court
If you are a younger driver, you will likely face a stricter standard when it comes to a license suspension. Indiana drivers under 21 years of age must complete a Driver Safety Program if convicted of two or more traffic offenses.
The Indiana point system for traffic offenses
The Indiana BMV keeps track of your driving offenses through a point system. Point values for offenses range from zero through 10 and stay on your record for up to two years. Another feature of the point system is that you receive a four-point credit to your driving record for completing a DSP. Indiana, however, does not use the point system to issue license suspensions.